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PROCEDURE FOR OBTAINING A LIFETIME DOG LICENSE 

1. Your dog must be microchipped or tattooed. 

2. The forms required for a Lifetime License are: 

a. Lifetime Dog License Application: The Lifetime Dog License Application must be filled out by the dog owner. 

b. Permanent Identification Verification Form (PIVF): The PIVF is to be completed and signed by the dog owner 

and the person scanning or implanting the microchip OR tattooing or verifying tattoo number. The dog owner 

fills out the top portion of the PIVF, and the veterinarian, veterinary technician or shelter fills out the bottom 

portion of the PIVF. 

3. The application may be submitted by mail or in person. 
 
 

IMPORTANT MICROCHIPPING INFORMATION 

Pennsylvania has exacted legislation permitting the option of microchipping your dog as a means of permanent identification for 

Lifetime Dog Licensing.  
 

THINGS YOU SHOULD KNOW… 
 

 Effective June 2, 2003 Pennsylvania dog owners that choose to microchip their dog as a means of permanent 

identification now have the option of purchasing a lifetime dog license. A microchip is implanted under the loose skin in 

the back of the dog’s neck. This microchip has information that identifies the dog owner. If the dog is lost, most animal 

shelters are equipped with scanning equipment to read the information off the microchip. This option is in addition to 

tattooing the dog, which has been in effect for years. The microchip must be implanted by a licensed authority.  
 

 

 Effective February 1, 2024 (Per Act 18 of 2023) the fee for a Pennsylvania Lifetime Dog License is $52.70 for male or 

female dog. Senior citizens (age 65+ at time of application) or persons with disabilities (“person with disability as that 

term is defined in Section 102 of the PA Dog Law PL 784, No. 225 as amended) can purchase a Lifetime License for 

$36.70 for male or female dog. There is no longer a differentiation between neutered/spayed and non-neutered/non-

spayed. 
 

 This Lifetime License can only be purchased from the County Treasurer’s Office, who will maintain a file of the PIVF 

you will be required to complete. If you move, you must notify the County Treasurer of your change of address. If you 

move out of the county, the record must be transferred to your new county of residence (see Lifetime License Transfer for 

further details). You will also receive a stainless steel dog tag w/ your dog’s Lifetime License number that must be affixed 

to your dog’s collar. If lost, there is a $1.70 fee to replace it.  
 

 There will be other fees you may incur in addition to the license fee noted above. The microchip insertion cost varies, 

please contact your veterinarian’s office or local shelter for most recent fees. In addition to that fee, most clinics and 

veterinarians will charge a normal office visit fee, and if necessary, a fee to sedate your dog to perform the medical 

procedure. There’s also an optional fee to register your permanent identification with the microchip manufacturer. 

 

This information is provided as a public service to help you make an informed decision concerning the dog licensing options available in Monroe 

County. If you have any questions, please call (570) 517-3180.  
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