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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS: 

When can I come in for my License to Carry Concealed? 

You must first submit your application and have been approved before you can come to the Courthouse. 
The office is open by appointment only, Monday – Friday 8:30am – 4:30pm.  Appointments are scheduled Monday – Friday at 
10:30am and 2:15pm. This is subject to change pending court calendar.  We are closed on all Federal/Major Holidays and 
Weekends. 
 
How old do I need to be in order to apply for my License to Carry Concealed? 

All applicants must be at least 21 years of age. 

How long will it take for my application to be approved?  How will I be notified of approval or denial? 

We take great pride in prompt service however, the background checks may take up to 15 days.  You will be notified by 
telephone or email of your approval.  You will be then schedule your appointment time.  If your application has been denied, 
you will be notified by certified mail of the next steps required by the PA Statute. 

How often do I need to renew my License to Carry Concealed? How do I renew my License to Carry Concealed? 

Your license needs to be renewed every 5 years.  The process to renew is the same as first time applicants.  Renewing just 
ensures you maintain your current license number. 

I have moved, but my License to Carry Concealed has not expired.  What do I do? 

If you have moved to another County in Pennsylvania, you will fill out the Request Form for Corrections or Replacements.  Your 
address will be updated to reflect the address change on your valid Pennsylvania Driver’s License, and when your license 
expires, you will reapply in your County of residence. 
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Is my License to Carry Concealed valid throughout all of Pennsylvania?   

With the exception of Philadelphia, yes, your license is valid throughout the State. Contact the Philadelphia Sheriff’s Office for 
their local rules.   Your Pennsylvania License to Carry Concealed is also valid, through reciprocal agreements, in many other 
States.  For a complete list of States and other helpful information, please refer to the Attorney General of Pennsylvania’s 
website. 

If I get stopped by a Law Enforcement Officer, should I notify them that I am Carrying Concealed? 

If you possess a concealed weapon and are stopped by a Law Enforcement Officer, it is suggested you provide the Officer with 
your License to Carry Concealed along with your PA Driver’s License or Identification Card. 

Do I need a License to Carry Concealed to purchase a Firearm in the Commonwealth Pennsylvania? 

No, you do not need a license to purchase a weapon in Pennsylvania.  You only need a valid Pennsylvania Driver’s License. 

Do I need to register all of my Firearms with the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania? 

No, the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania does not require you register Firearms. 

 


